No ChatGPT Plus, Gemini (Google AI Pro), Claude Pro or Perplexity Pro plan was free for everyone when we checked on 12 and 13 October 2026. The free routes that do exist are each for a specific group, and most close on a fixed date:
- US college students: 4 months of ChatGPT Plus free. Claim by 31 October 2026.
- College students aged 18+: a free year of Google’s AI plan (Google AI Pro in the US, Google AI Plus in India). Redeem by 31 December 2026.
- Jio users in India aged 18+: up to 18 months of Google AI Pro. Claim by 29 October 2026.
- New Pixel Pro and Chromebook Plus owners: 6 to 12 months of Google AI Pro.
- Open-source maintainers whose projects qualify: 6 months of Claude Max 20x, a plan that normally costs $200 a month.
The student and device offers renew at the full price unless you cancel, so read the renewal table before you add a card. We checked each offer’s official page on 12 and 13 October 2026.
Product names belong to their owners. We are not affiliated with OpenAI, Google, Anthropic or Perplexity, and we use no referral links.

Which paid AI plans can you get free? Status by product
The short answer for each product, in the order people search for them. “Open now” means you can still claim it if you qualify. Each name links to its full entry, with the rules and the official claim page.
| Product | Status on 12 and 13 October 2026 |
|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Open now: Back to School: 4 months of Plus for US college and graduate students; claim by 31 October 2026. ChatGPT for Teachers: US K-12 (school) educators. Codex credits: university students in the US and Canada. Codex for Open Source: selected core maintainers. Ended: ChatGPT Go free year (India), 21 January 2026. Note: no free Plus for the general public, and nothing open for students in India. |
| Google AI and Gemini | Open now: Student plan: a free year for college students 18+; redeem by 31 December 2026. Jio offer: up to 18 months of AI Pro in India; claim by 29 October 2026. Device offers: Pixel 10 Pro by 31 October 2026, Pixel 11 Pro by 31 October 2027, Chromebook Plus by 31 January 2027. Ended: Pixel 9 Pro offer, 15 November 2025. Free Gemini CLI tier, 18 June 2026. Note: in India the student plan is AI Plus, a lower tier than AI Pro. |
| Claude | Open now: Claude for Open Source: 6 months of Max 20x for qualifying maintainers. Claude for Teachers (K-12): US K-12 educators. Claude Team plan for scientists: verified lab heads, first 10,000. Ended: none found. Note: no free Claude Pro for individuals, and no individual student plan found. |
| Perplexity | Open now: no free Pro offer. Perplexity Education Pro is a paid discount ($10 a month). Ended: Airtel offer, 16 January 2026. PayPal and Venmo offer, 31 December 2025. Referral programs, October and November 2025. Note: Airtel’s free perk is now Adobe Express Premium. |
| GitHub Copilot | Open now: GitHub Copilot Free: individual developers, no card. Copilot Student: verified students. Copilot Pro free for verified teachers and maintainers of popular repositories. Ended: free Copilot Pro for students, replaced by Copilot Student on 13 March 2026. Note: Cursor’s student discount closed to new sign-ups on 25 June 2026. |
| Microsoft 365 Premium | Open now: only a paid 50% student discount on Microsoft 365 Personal. Ended: the free year for college students; Microsoft has not confirmed the end date. Note: Microsoft’s Office for education page still shows the old free-year banner. |
Before you claim: how to spot a fake free ChatGPT or Gemini offer
Fake “free ChatGPT Plus” and “free Gemini Pro” offers copy the names and look of the real ones. Run these six checks before you sign in anywhere or add a card.
- Start from the official place, not a forwarded link. Jio: the MyJio app or Jio.com. Google’s student plan: Google’s student page for your country. ChatGPT Back to School: the offer page linked from OpenAI’s help article. Pixel: the Gemini or Google One app on the new phone.
- Never give anyone your password or a one-time code (OTP). You claim a real offer while signed in to your own account. Type a code only into the official app or site you opened yourself.
- Never pay a fee to activate. No offer here has one. Jio needs a qualifying recharge plan, and some offers take a card only to bill you later; the renewal table shows which.
- Do not buy shared logins or “verified student accounts”. OpenAI’s terms of use say you may not share your account credentials or make your account available to anyone else, and OpenAI can suspend or terminate access when its terms are broken. A seller with your login can also read your chats or lock you out. No official offer we found is “lifetime free”.
- Do not install APKs or browser extensions that promise free plans. An APK is an Android app file from outside the Play Store. Every official route here runs in the provider’s own app or website.
- Never misstate your age or student status. Google’s student plan and Jio’s offer are for ages 18+, and most student offers here (OpenAI, Google, Perplexity and Kiro) check you through SheerID, a service that matches your details against school records or documents.
Six offers to claim first, by deadline
Soonest deadline first. Each card opens the full entry with the rules and the official claim page. Routes for teachers, scientists and developers are in the product sections below.
Is ChatGPT Plus free? Every official route
Only for some groups. On 12 and 13 October 2026 OpenAI had no free ChatGPT Plus offer for the general public.
Back to School: 4 months of Plus for US college students
- Who: full-time or part-time college and graduate students at eligible US institutions, verified through SheerID. New users and existing monthly Plus subscribers billed directly by ChatGPT can claim it once.
- What: four free monthly billing periods of Plus, from the day you claim. Claim by 31 October 2026.
- After: $20 a month unless you cancel. If you cancel during the free months, you keep Plus to the end of that month but lose the free months left.
- Catches: a payment method is required; App Store and Google Play subscriptions are not supported; and OpenAI cannot move the offer to another account, so check which account you are signed in to.
Teachers, Codex credits and open source
- ChatGPT for Teachers: a free workspace for verified US K-12 educators. OpenAI’s own pages disagree on when the free period ends (June 2028 on the plan page, June 2027 in the pricing FAQ), and OpenAI says it may charge afterwards, with notice.
- Codex credits for university students: $100 of Codex usage for students at a US or Canadian university. Codex is OpenAI’s coding agent. These are ChatGPT credits for Codex, not Plus and not API credits, and they expire 12 months after the grant. No card is needed.
- Codex for Open Source: six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex for core maintainers of widely used projects, chosen by OpenAI. OpenAI does not say which Pro tier it gives, so we put no value on it. See our open-source page.
Is ChatGPT Go still free in India?
No. OpenAI’s release notes say its 12-month free ChatGPT Go promotion for users in India, announced on 3 November 2025, ended on 21 January 2026. If you redeemed it, you keep Go until your 12 months are up. It was redeemed without a promo code, so anyone selling “ChatGPT Go codes” is not OpenAI.
Your free ChatGPT Go year is ending: how to avoid a charge
- Find your end date. Free years end between November 2026 and January 2027. If you already paid for Go when you redeemed it, yours may end later, because the free year started after your paid billing cycle.
- Know what happens next. Go then bills monthly, and the card or UPI mandate you added (your approval for automatic payments through India’s UPI bank-payment system) stays on file.
- Cancel if you do not want to pay. In ChatGPT, open Settings > Account and cancel before the free year ends.
- Check the price. Go launched in India on 18 August 2025 at Rs 399 a month including GST (India’s goods and services tax). Check the price in your account before the year ends, in case it has changed.
How to get Google AI Pro (Gemini) free
There are four official routes, and none is open to everyone. Google AI Pro is Google’s paid AI plan, with higher Gemini limits and more storage, at $19.99 a month in the US. Google AI Plus is a lower tier.
Google AI Pro free for students (the Google AI student plan)
- Who: college or university students aged 18+ who are new to the plan, or whose 2025 AI Pro trial has ended.
- US: a free year of Google AI Pro with 5 TB of storage, then $19.99 a month.
- India: a free year of Google AI Plus with 400 GB, then Rs 399 a month.
- Germany: AI Pro at a student discount for up to four years, then EUR 21.99 a month. It is not a free year.
- Rules: redeem by 31 December 2026, add a payment method and re-verify your student status every year. It renews at the full price unless you cancel.
We checked only the US, India and Germany pages. Google’s announcement of 19 August 2026 says the free AI Pro year is for the US, and other eligible countries get AI Plus. Anywhere else, read Google’s student page for your country before you add a card.
Free Gemini Pro with Jio (Google AI Pro, India)
- Who: Jio retail mobile users aged 18+ on an unlimited 5G plan of Rs 349 or more. Since 11 February 2026, 1.5 GB a day plans of Rs 299 or more also qualify, for a limited time.
- What: up to 18 months of Google AI Pro, which Jio values at Rs 1,950 a month (Rs 35,100 in all). That is Jio’s list price, not cash.
- Deadline: activate by 29 October 2026, the end of the offer period in Jio’s terms. Jio can change or withdraw it earlier.
- How: tap the Google Gemini banner in the MyJio app or on Jio.com, then sign in with your Gmail ID on the Google One page. One claim per subscriber.
- Catches: no card and no auto-renewal. If your recharge lapses, access is suspended while the 18-month clock keeps running. Porting out of Jio, or deleting the Gmail account, cancels it.
Pixel and Chromebook Plus bundles
- Pixel 10 Pro, Pro XL and Pro Fold: 12 months; redeem by 31 October 2026. India is on the 32-country list.
- Pixel 11 Pro, Pro XL and Pro Fold: 6 months; redeem by 31 October 2027. Google publishes no country list for it.
- Chromebook Plus: 12 months; redeem by 31 January 2027. Google’s page in India shows the offer, valued at Rs 23,400.
These trials need a payment method and renew at $19.99 a month in the US (about Rs 1,950 in India) unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the end. The base Pixel 10 comes with Google One storage, not AI Pro. Count the trial as a bonus on a device you were buying anyway.
Not working? Common reasons
- Age: you must be 18 or older.
- No payment method: the student plan and the device trials need one at sign-up.
- Country: India’s student page offers AI Plus, not AI Pro.
- Pixel 10 Pro exclusions: members of a 5 TB Google One plan, members with an add-on such as YouTube Premium, members billed through a third party, and family members who are not the plan manager cannot claim it. Claiming it cancels an existing Google One plan.
Is Claude Pro free?
No. There was no free Claude Pro for individuals on 12 and 13 October 2026, and we found no individual student plan. Anthropic’s free and discounted routes are for specific groups:
- Open-source maintainers: Claude for Open Source gives 6 months of Claude Max 20x (normally $200 a month) to maintainers who meet a usage threshold, such as 200,000+ monthly downloads or 500+ dependent repositories. It is capped at 10,000 recipients, Indian maintainers can apply, and Anthropic contacts only approved applicants. Tax on the benefit is your responsibility, so ask your accountant. The full checklist is on our nonprofits and open-source page.
- US K-12 teachers: Claude for Teachers (K-12) gives verified educators free premium features. Schools and districts that sign up by 30 June 2027 get a full year free. Anthropic does not list which paid features are included.
- Scientists: Claude Team plan for scientists gives verified principal investigators (lab heads) at universities and nonprofit research institutes free Team Standard seats for 12 months, for the first 10,000 scientists. It needs a payment method and renews at the then-current price.
- Nonprofits: Claude for Nonprofits is a discount, not a free plan: Team at $8 a user a month, or $3 in low- and middle-income countries, with at least 2 seats.
Paid Claude Max and Team plans include a monthly Claude API credit: $100 on Max 5x, $200 on Max 20x and $20 per Team Standard seat. See the monthly API credit entry for the rules, and the claim steps in our Claude for Startups guide. Anthropic’s open-source terms do not say whether the free Max plan includes that credit.
Is Perplexity Pro free?
No free Perplexity Pro offer was open on 12 and 13 October 2026. The two big giveaways have ended:
- Airtel (India): the 12-month offer for Airtel customers closed to new users on 16 January 2026. If you redeemed it, you keep Pro for your 12 months. Most of those free years end between July 2026 and January 2027, and a card was required, so check your renewal settings now.
- PayPal and Venmo: the 12-month offer ended on 31 December 2025.
- Referrals: Perplexity ended “Give a month, Get a month” on 6 October 2025 and Comet referrals on 6 November 2025, and says its Student Referrals program is discontinued.
Perplexity Education Pro is a paid discount, not a free plan. Perplexity’s plan guide lists it at $10 a month for students and educators verified through SheerID. Check the price at checkout before you pay.
On 12 and 13 October 2026, Airtel’s free perk was Adobe Express Premium: 12 months with 3,000 generative-AI credits a year, which you can activate in the Airtel Thanks app from 29 January 2026 to 28 January 2027. It needs no card and ends on its own.
GitHub Copilot Pro and Cursor Pro: who still gets them free
These are coding tools, not chat plans, and most have their full entries on the students page and our free AI API guide. The short version on 12 and 13 October 2026:
- Anyone: GitHub Copilot Free needs no card. GitHub’s plans page lists 2,000 code completions a month plus limited chat and agent use; its docs do not state the exact allowance.
- Students: Copilot Student replaced free Copilot Pro for students on 13 March 2026. It is free after GitHub Education verification, with automatic model selection only.
- Teachers and maintainers: Copilot Pro (normally $10 a month) is free for verified teachers and maintainers of popular repositories.
- Cursor: the student discount closed to new sign-ups on 25 June 2026. Since then, undergraduates get credits at Cursor’s campus events, and graduate students, researchers and educators can request credits through a form.
Free AI subscription offers: full entries
The telecom bundles, device trials and student plans whose full entry lives on this page: 6 you can still claim, and the ended ones in a muted list below, so you can check a date without chasing a dead offer. Use the filters to show offers open in India or offers with no card. Plans for maintainers, teachers and scientists have their entries on the students page and the nonprofits and open-source page. Values such as Jio’s Rs 35,100 are the provider’s list prices, not cash.
Adobe Express Premium free with Airtel
Bharti Airtel and AdobeEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Adobe Express Premium free with Airtel
- Who qualifies
- Airtel customer (prepaid, postpaid, broadband or DTH)
- Stay an active Airtel customer for the full 12 months
- One redemption per user; non-transferable
- How long
- 12 months from activation
- Referral or funding needed
- n/a
- Card needed
- No
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- India only
- India
- Yes. India-only telecom bundle that replaced Airtel’s ended Perplexity Pro perk.
- How to apply
- In the Airtel Thanks app, go to ‘Claim your OTTs & benefits’, pick the Adobe Express Premium banner, and sign in or create an Adobe account.
- Watch out for
- It ends on its own after 12 months. You keep your files, but premium templates and assets may disappear. You are not charged unless you choose a paid plan.
- Cannot be combined with other Adobe promotions.
- If you already pay for Express, a monthly plan is paused for the 12 months and an annual renewal moves 12 months later. Generative-AI credits come only from the Airtel plan during that time.
- Status note
- Per Adobe’s FAQ (updated 15 February 2026), you can activate from 29 January 2026 to 28 January 2027.
ChatGPT Back to School offer for students (2026)
OpenAIEligibility, card, India and how to apply for ChatGPT Back to School offer for students (2026)
- Who qualifies
- Full-time or part-time college or graduate student at an eligible US degree-granting institution
- SheerID verification through school records, single sign-on or documents
- New users or existing monthly Plus subscribers billed directly by ChatGPT
- Redeemable once; an earlier student promo does not block you
- How long
- 4 monthly billing periods from the claim date. Claim by 31 October 2026.
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- United States only
- India
- No. Only students at US institutions qualify.
- How to apply
- Sign in to the ChatGPT account you want upgraded, open the Back to School offer page in a browser, complete SheerID verification, and add a payment method.
- Watch out for
- Renews at $20 a month after the 4 months unless you cancel.
- If you cancel, you keep Plus to the end of the current month but lose any remaining free months.
- Subscriptions billed through the App Store or Google Play are not supported.
- OpenAI cannot move the promo to a different account once applied, so check which account you are signed in to.
- Status note
- Confirmed on OpenAI’s help article and Edu newsletter (1 September 2026) on 12 October 2026: 4 free months of Plus, claim by 31 October 2026, then $20 a month. A 2025 US/Canada two-month promo has ended (third-party source only).
Google AI free student plan (Google AI Pro in the US, Google AI Plus in India)
GoogleEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Google AI free student plan (Google AI Pro in the US, Google AI Plus in India)
- Who qualifies
- College or university student aged 18 or older
- New users, or students whose 2025 AI Pro trial has ended
- Student status reverified each year
- How long
- 12 months. Must be redeemed by 31 December 2026; student status is rechecked every year.
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- Varies by country. US gets AI Pro; India gets AI Plus; Germany offers a discounted AI Pro student price instead of a free year. Other countries not rechecked.
- India
- Yes. India’s page offers Google AI Plus free for 1 year to university students aged 18+, then Rs 399 a month unless cancelled. Redeem by 31 December 2026.
- How to apply
- Open gemini.google/students for your country, click Claim Free Student Plan, verify your student status, and add a payment method.
- Watch out for
- It renews automatically at the full price after 12 months unless you cancel.
- A payment method is required at sign-up.
- Outside the US the plan may be AI Plus, not AI Pro, with less storage and lower limits.
- You must reverify your student status every year.
- Status note
- Checked 13 October 2026 on gemini.google country pages and Google’s 19 August 2026 announcement. US: free Google AI Pro for a year (Google values it at $19.99 a month), then $19.99 a month unless cancelled; redeem by 31 December 2026. India: free Google AI Plus for a year, then Rs 399 a month; redeem by 31 December 2026. The free AI Pro year is US-only; other eligible countries get AI Plus. Germany (checked 12 October 2026): discounted AI Pro while a student, up to four years, then EUR 21.99 a month. The $240 figure is our estimate: 12 x $19.99 = $239.88 before tax, rounded to $240.
Google AI Pro trial with Pixel Pro phones and Chromebook Plus
GoogleEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Google AI Pro trial with Pixel Pro phones and Chromebook Plus
- Who qualifies
- Buy and activate an eligible Pixel Pro phone or Chromebook Plus
- Pixel 11 Pro offer: open to new and existing Google One users
- Pixel 10 Pro offer: not available to 5 TB plan members, members with an add-on such as YouTube Premium, members billed through a third party, or family-plan members who are not the plan manager
- Ages 18+ for Gemini in Google AI Pro
- A valid payment method is needed to start the trial
- How long
- 6 months (Pixel 11 Pro family) or 12 months (Pixel 10 Pro family, Chromebook Plus), counted from the day you redeem
- Referral or funding needed
- No; requires buying and activating an eligible device
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- Pixel 10 Pro offer: 32 countries for 12 months, including India, the US, UK, Canada, Mexico, Australia, most of the EU, Singapore, Malaysia and Taiwan; Japan gets 6 months. Pixel 11 Pro: no country list published. Chromebook Plus: country list not stated; the Indian version of the page shows the offer.
- India
- Yes. India is on the Pixel 10 Pro offer country list. Google’s Chromebook Plus page, served in India, offers 12 months of Google AI Pro with 5 TB, valued at Rs 23,400, redeemable until 31 January 2027. The Pixel 11 Pro help-page entry has no country list, so India is not confirmed for that offer.
- How to apply
- On the new Pixel, open the Gemini or Google One app and follow the offer banner to check eligibility. Chromebook Plus owners redeem from the Chromebook perks on the device.
- Watch out for
- The trial renews automatically at $19.99 a month in the US (about Rs 1,950 a month in India). Cancel at least 24 hours before the trial ends
- The Pixel 11 Pro offer is 6 months, half the length of the Pixel 10 Pro offer
- The Pixel 10 Pro offer must be redeemed by 31 October 2026
- Existing Google One members who claim the Pixel 10 Pro offer have their current plan cancelled (any balance may be refunded)
- Retailer listings that mention older Chromebook perk dates are out of date
- Status note
- Redeem-by dates on official pages: Pixel 10 Pro, Pro XL and Pro Fold, 12 months (2 TB listed), offer period 20 August 2025 to 31 October 2026 (closes soon). Pixel 11 Pro, Pro XL and Pro Fold, 6 months with 5 TB, redeem by 31 October 2027 11:59pm PT. Chromebook Plus, 12 months with 5 TB, redeem by 31 January 2027 11:59pm PT. The Pixel 9 Pro offer (12 months) ended on 15 November 2025. Base Pixel 10 buyers get 6 months of Google One Premium 2 TB, not AI Pro.
Google Gemini Offer (Google AI Pro, powered by Jio)
Reliance Jio and GoogleEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Google Gemini Offer (Google AI Pro, powered by Jio)
- Who qualifies
- Jio retail mobile subscriber aged 18+ when claiming
- Unlimited 5G recharge plan at Rs 349 or more (prepaid or postpaid)
- From 11 February 2026, for a limited time, also 1.5 GB a day plans at Rs 299 or more
- Stay on a qualifying plan for the whole period
- One redemption per subscriber; activate with a Gmail ID
- How long
- Up to 18 months from activation
- Referral or funding needed
- n/a
- Card needed
- No
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- India (Jio mobile numbers only)
- India
- Yes. India-only telecom bundle. Non-Jio users would need a Jio SIM and a qualifying plan.
- How to apply
- In the MyJio app or on Jio.com, tap the Google Gemini banner and sign up with your Gmail ID on the Google One activation page.
- Watch out for
- Claim by 29 October 2026. The free period only applies if you activate within the offer period.
- If your plan lapses, access is suspended but the 18-month clock keeps running.
- Porting out of Jio, or deleting the Gmail account, cancels the subscription.
- It does not auto-renew; you would buy a paid plan afterwards.
- Cannot be combined with other promotions; Jio can change or withdraw the offer at any time.
- Status note
- Per Jio’s T&C, the offer runs from 30 October 2025 to 29 October 2026, unless Jio changes it. It started with 18 to 25 year-olds and is now open to subscribers aged 18+. Plan eligibility was widened on 11 February 2026.
Perplexity Education Pro
PerplexityEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Perplexity Education Pro
- Who qualifies
- Student or faculty member
- SheerID verification; the email can differ from your Perplexity login
- How long
- While verified (renewal rules not stated)
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- Not stated
- India
- Unclear. No country list or Indian price is published; the $10 figure is in US dollars. Perplexity’s Airtel promo for Indian users was a telecom offer, not a student one.
- How to apply
- In the Perplexity web app, click Upgrade, switch to the Education plan, and choose Verify as student; the discount applies at checkout.
- Watch out for
- It is a paid, discounted plan, not a free one.
- Use the desktop web upgrade flow if checkout fails in the app.
- If verification is rejected, you cannot use Education Pro.
- Cancel the subscription before deleting your account.
- Status note
- Perplexity’s plan guide (help article 11187416, checked 15 October 2026) lists Education Pro at $10 a month with SheerID verification; the ‘What is Education Pro?’ article gives features and checkout steps but no price. No price in other currencies is published. Perplexity’s help centre says the Student Referrals program has been discontinued and ‘Give a month, Get a month’ ended on 6 October 2025.
Ended and paused programs (5)
12 months of Perplexity Pro free for PayPal and Venmo users
Perplexity (with PayPal and Venmo)Eligibility, card, India and how to apply for 12 months of Perplexity Pro free for PayPal and Venmo users
- Who qualifies
- First-time Perplexity Pro users only.
- PayPal or Venmo account created by 1 September 2025.
- US users through the PayPal or Venmo app; select other markets later.
- How long
- Was 12 months, then renewal at the current rate.
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- US, plus select global markets.
- India
- No. US-focused offer, now ended. Airtel’s Perplexity Pro offer was India-only and belongs in the India section.
- How to apply
- No longer open to new users.
- Watch out for
- Partner promotions renew at the standard rate unless cancelled before the free period ends.
- Perplexity partner codes need a valid card, are redeemed on the web only, and cannot be applied while an App Store or Google Play subscription is active.
- Status note
- Valid through 31 December 2025, per PayPal’s 3 September 2025 press release. Perplexity’s own referral programs also ended: ‘Give a month, Get a month’ on 6 October 2025 and Comet referrals on 6 November 2025. Students and educators can still buy Education Pro at $10 a month.
ChatGPT Go Promotion (India): 12 months free
OpenAIEligibility, card, India and how to apply for ChatGPT Go Promotion (India): 12 months free
- Who qualifies
- Users in India
- New user, Free-plan user, or existing Go subscriber
- One redemption per account
- Payment method required (credit card or UPI)
- How long
- 12 months from redemption
- Referral or funding needed
- n/a
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- India only
- India
- Yes. ChatGPT Go launched in India on 18 August 2025 at Rs 399 a month incl. GST. It is now sold in all ChatGPT-supported countries.
- How to apply
- Closed. It was redeemed on ChatGPT web, Android or iOS without a promo code.
- Watch out for
- Free years from this promo end between November 2026 and January 2027 (later for existing Go subscribers whose promo started after their billing cycle). Go then bills monthly unless you cancel.
- A card or UPI mandate stays on file. Cancel in Settings > Account if you do not want to pay.
- Check the current Go price before the free year ends; the India launch price was Rs 399 a month.
- Status note
- OpenAI’s release notes (entry dated 3 November 2025) say the promo ended as of 21 January 2026. The Go help page now says Go is available in all supported countries and is billed monthly.
Cursor student discount on Pro (legacy)
Cursor (Anysphere)Eligibility, card, India and how to apply for Cursor student discount on Pro (legacy)
- Who qualifies
- Closed to new sign-ups.
- On 12 October 2026: undergraduates could claim credits and discounts at on-campus and online events; master’s and PhD students, researchers and educators can request credits through a form.
- How long
- Was one discount year; those who redeemed keep their rate until the plan expires, then pay $20 a month.
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Not applicable
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- Closed to all new sign-ups.
- India
- No. Closed to all new sign-ups worldwide.
- How to apply
- No longer open. Students can sign up for Cursor’s campus newsletter or use the credit request form on Cursor’s student discount help page.
- Watch out for
- After an existing student year ends, Pro renews at $20 a month unless cancelled.
- Cursor’s free Hobby plan needs no card but has only limited agent requests.
- Status note
- Cursor stopped new sign-ups for the legacy student discount on 25 June 2026, saying it had become a target for fraud. Its help page does not state the size of the old discount (widely reported as a free year of Pro, about $240), and the new event credits have no published amounts.
Microsoft 365 Premium free for college students (ended)
MicrosoftEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Microsoft 365 Premium free for college students (ended)
- Who qualifies
- Was for students at eligible higher-education institutions with a college email
- Current replacement: 50% off Microsoft 365 Personal for verified full- or part-time students at accredited colleges, re-verified yearly
- How long
- Was 12 months
- Referral or funding needed
- No
- Card needed
- Not applicable
- Work or school email
- Yes
- Countries
- Not stated on official pages
- India
- No. The free Premium offer is closed. The 50% student discount was seen on the US page; availability in India was not checked.
- How to apply
- Not available. For the current discount, sign in with a personal Microsoft account on the college student pricing page, add a payment method, and verify with your student email.
- Watch out for
- Microsoft’s education page still advertises the free year; the linked offer page does not.
- The current offer is a paid discount, not free, and needs a payment method.
- The discounted price rises to the full price once you are no longer a verified student.
- Status note
- Announced 15 January 2026. On 12 October 2026 the college offer page (microsoft.com/microsoft-365/college-student-pricing) shows only a 50% student discount on Microsoft 365 Personal, with a payment method required. Microsoft’s Office for education page still carries an old ‘limited time, 12 months of Premium free’ banner linking to that page. Third-party reports gave end dates of 1 March 2026 (US) and 28 February 2026 (Germany).
Perplexity Pro free for Airtel customers
Bharti Airtel and PerplexityEligibility, card, India and how to apply for Perplexity Pro free for Airtel customers
- Who qualifies
- Active Airtel customer in India (incl. business and enterprise)
- Redeem in the Airtel Thanks app while in India
- Perplexity Pro only; not Enterprise Pro or Max
- How long
- 12 months from redemption
- Referral or funding needed
- n/a
- Card needed
- Yes
- Work or school email
- No
- Countries
- India only
- India
- Yes. India-only telecom bundle.
- How to apply
- Closed. It was claimed in the Airtel Thanks app.
- Watch out for
- Closed to new users since 16 January 2026.
- A credit card was required, with no charge during the promo. Check renewal settings before your free year ends; most free years end between July 2026 and January 2027, later for existing Stripe subscribers whose free months started after their paid term.
- Apple or Google in-app subscribers had to turn off auto-renew, or they kept being charged and the promo did not apply.
- Status note
- Airtel announced it on 17 July 2025. Perplexity’s help centre says the promotion ended on 16 January 2026. People who redeemed keep Pro for their 12 months. On 12 October 2026, Airtel’s free perk was Adobe Express Premium.
Free now, billed later: renewal prices and cancel-by dates
Most free AI plans turn into paid plans on their own. This is what each one does when the free period ends.
| Offer | What happens |
|---|---|
| Google AI student plan | Card needed: Yes After the free period: $19.99 a month (US, AI Pro) or Rs 399 a month (India, AI Plus) What to do: Cancel before the 12 months end if you do not want to pay. |
| ChatGPT Back to School | Card needed: Yes After the free period: $20 a month after 4 free billing periods What to do: Cancelling early ends the free months left, so cancel during the fourth month if you want only the free period. |
| Pixel and Chromebook Plus trials | Card needed: Yes After the free period: $19.99 a month in the US (about Rs 1,950 in India) What to do: Cancel at least 24 hours before the trial ends. |
| ChatGPT Go free year (India) | Card needed: Card or UPI mandate on file After the free period: Go bills monthly What to do: Cancel in Settings > Account before your year ends (November 2026 to January 2027 for most people). |
| Perplexity Pro with Airtel | Card needed: A card was required After the free period: Check your renewal settings What to do: Check before your free year ends; most end between July 2026 and January 2027. |
| Claude Team for scientists | Card needed: Yes After the free period: The then-current price after 12 months What to do: Cancel before the year ends if you do not want to pay. 90 days without use can end the promo price. |
| Claude for Open Source | Card needed: No After the free period: If you already paid for Claude, your old plan and rate resume after 6 months What to do: Cancel the old plan if you do not want it to resume. |
| Google AI Pro with Jio | Card needed: No After the free period: Does not auto-renew What to do: Stay on a qualifying Jio plan for the whole period. |
| Adobe Express Premium with Airtel | Card needed: No After the free period: Ends on its own; you keep your files, but premium templates and assets may disappear What to do: Nothing. You are not charged unless you choose a paid plan. |
Ended offers: stop chasing these
People still search for these, and fake pages still use their names. None takes new claims. We keep each one here for at least 12 months after it ends.
| Offer | When it ended, and what to use instead |
|---|---|
| ChatGPT Go 12 months free (India) | Ended: 21 January 2026 Instead: If you redeemed it, cancel before your free year ends or plan to pay for Go. |
| Perplexity Pro with Airtel | Ended: 16 January 2026 (closed to new users) Instead: Check your renewal settings. Airtel now offers Adobe Express Premium. |
| Perplexity Pro via PayPal and Venmo | Ended: 31 December 2025 Instead: No free route. Education Pro is a paid discount. |
| Perplexity referral programs | Ended: “Give a month, Get a month”: 6 October 2025. Comet referrals: 6 November 2025. Student Referrals: discontinued Instead: None. |
| Cursor student discount | Ended: 25 June 2026 (new sign-ups) Instead: Cursor’s campus events and credit form, or Copilot Student. |
| Microsoft 365 Premium free for college students | Ended: Yes, but Microsoft has not published the end date Instead: The offer page now shows 50% off Microsoft 365 Personal, a paid discount. |
| Free Copilot Pro for students | Ended: Replaced on 13 March 2026 Instead: Copilot Student is free for verified students. |
| Pixel 9 Pro: 12 months of Google AI Pro | Ended: 15 November 2025 Instead: The Pixel 10 Pro offer runs to 31 October 2026. |
| Colab Pro for Education (free 1-year Colab Pro) | Status: Paused, closed to new sign-ups Instead: Existing users keep access until their one-year mark. |
| Free Gemini CLI tier (Login with Google) | Ended: 18 June 2026 Instead: Google points users to the free Google Antigravity plan. |
Free AI plans outside the US: India, Germany and everywhere else
Where you live decides most of these offers. The US routes are covered above; this is what changes elsewhere.
India
- India-only: Google AI Pro with Jio for Jio users 18+ (claim by 29 October 2026) and Adobe Express Premium with Airtel (activate by 28 January 2027).
- Students: the free year from Google’s student plan is AI Plus, not AI Pro, then Rs 399 a month. ChatGPT Back to School and Codex credits are not open to students in India, and ChatGPT for Teachers and Claude for Teachers are US-only.
- Also open to Indian applicants: the Pixel 10 Pro and Chromebook Plus trials, Claude for Open Source, Codex for Open Source, Copilot Free, Copilot Student and free Copilot Pro for verified teachers.
For grants, government schemes and other India-only programs, see our India page.
Germany
Google’s German student page offers Google AI Pro at a student discount for up to four years, then EUR 21.99 a month. It is not a free year.
Everywhere else
We did not recheck other countries for Google’s student plan, so read Google’s student page for your country before you add a card. The Pixel 10 Pro offer covers 32 countries, including the UK, Canada, Australia, most of the EU and Singapore. The open-source and GitHub offers state no country limit, though Claude for Open Source needs you to live where Claude.ai is offered.
Free AI plans: FAQ
Is Gemini Pro free for students?
Yes in the US. On 12 and 13 October 2026, college students aged 18+ could get a free year of Google AI Pro if they redeemed by 31 December 2026, then $19.99 a month unless they cancel. In India the free year is Google AI Plus, a lower tier (then Rs 399 a month), and in Germany it is a student discount, not a free year. You need a payment method to sign up.
Will I be charged when a free AI plan ends?
Usually, yes. On 12 and 13 October 2026, Google’s student plan, ChatGPT Back to School and the Pixel and Chromebook Plus trials all renewed at the full price unless you cancelled. Jio’s Google AI Pro offer and Airtel’s Adobe Express Premium do not renew on their own.
Can I get Google AI Pro free if I am not a student?
Yes, in some cases. On 12 and 13 October 2026, Jio users in India could claim up to 18 months by 29 October 2026, and buyers of a new Pixel 10 Pro, Pixel 11 Pro or Chromebook Plus got 6 to 12 months. There was no free AI Pro for everyone.
Is there a free Claude Pro plan for students?
No. On 12 and 13 October 2026 we found no free Claude Pro and no individual student plan. Anthropic’s campus programs pay a $3,600 stipend to student group leaders and were closed for Fall 2026.
Are cheap or shared ChatGPT Plus accounts sold online safe?
No. OpenAI’s terms of use say you may not share your account credentials or make your account available to anyone else, and OpenAI can suspend or terminate access for breaking them. A bought login also lets the seller read your chats or lock you out.
Why is the Google AI student offer not working for me?
On 12 and 13 October 2026, the usual reasons were being under 18, having no payment method on the account, or expecting AI Pro outside the US (India gets AI Plus). The plan is for new users and for students whose 2025 trial has ended, and you must re-verify your student status every year.
Is ChatGPT Plus free for students in India?
No. On 12 and 13 October 2026, OpenAI’s Back to School offer (4 free months of Plus, claim by 31 October 2026) was only for students at US institutions, and the free ChatGPT Go year for India ended on 21 January 2026.
How can I get Gemini Pro free in India?
On 12 and 13 October 2026, Jio users aged 18+ on a qualifying plan could claim up to 18 months of Google AI Pro by 29 October 2026. New Pixel 10 Pro owners (redeem by 31 October 2026) and Chromebook Plus owners (by 31 January 2027) get 12 months, and college students 18+ get a free year of Google AI Plus, a lower tier, if they redeem by 31 December 2026.
Is Perplexity Pro still free with Airtel?
No. Perplexity’s help centre says the Airtel offer closed to new users on 16 January 2026. If you redeemed it, you keep Pro for your 12 months, but a card was required, so check your renewal settings before the year ends.
Related guides
- The full free credits list: every program we track
- Other free tools for students
- Claude Max and ChatGPT Pro for open-source maintainers
- Free AI APIs
- Monthly API credits on Claude Max and Team
- Which paid AI plan is worth it in India
- Compare the models behind these plans
- Startup schemes in India
Please note: offers change at short notice, and providers can end them early. We checked every offer on this page on 12 and 13 October 2026, and we recheck it at least every 2 weeks and on deadline days (29 October, 31 October and 31 December 2026), but there can be a gap between a change and our update. Check the official page before you claim or add a card. Values are the providers’ list prices, not cash. This page is not legal, tax or financial advice.
Sources
- OpenAI Help Center: ChatGPT Back to School offer for students (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI: ChatGPT for students, 2026 offer page (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI Help Center: ChatGPT release notes (ChatGPT Go promotion in India) (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI Help Center: What is ChatGPT Go? (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI Help Center: Codex credits for students, terms of service (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI: ChatGPT for Teachers (K-12) (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI: Codex for Open Source (opens in a new tab)
- OpenAI: Terms of use (opens in a new tab)
- Google: AI student plan, United States (opens in a new tab)
- Google: AI student plan, India (opens in a new tab)
- Google: AI student plan, Germany (opens in a new tab)
- Google blog: student offer announcement (19 August 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Google One Help: student offer terms (opens in a new tab)
- Jio: Google Gemini offer terms and conditions (opens in a new tab)
- Jio: Google Gemini offer page (opens in a new tab)
- Pixel Phone Help: Google AI Pro offers with Pixel phones (opens in a new tab)
- Google Store: Pixel 11 Pro offer terms (opens in a new tab)
- Google: Chromebook Plus and the Google AI Pro offer (opens in a new tab)
- Google for Developers: Gemini Code Assist for individuals deprecation (opens in a new tab)
- Google Colab FAQ (Colab Pro for Education) (opens in a new tab)
- Perplexity Help Center: Perplexity Pro Airtel promo (opens in a new tab)
- Perplexity Help Center: partner promotions and referral programs (opens in a new tab)
- Perplexity Help Center: What is Education Pro? (opens in a new tab)
- Perplexity Help Center: Which Perplexity subscription plan is right for you? (Education Pro price) (opens in a new tab)
- PayPal newsroom: Perplexity Pro offer for PayPal and Venmo users (3 September 2025) (opens in a new tab)
- Adobe Help: Adobe Express Premium with Airtel FAQ (opens in a new tab)
- Airtel: Adobe Express Premium offer page (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude for Open Source (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude for Open Source terms (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude for Teachers (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude Team plan for scientists (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude for Nonprofits (opens in a new tab)
- Anthropic: Claude campus programs (opens in a new tab)
- Claude Help Center: monthly API credits for Max and Team plans (opens in a new tab)
- GitHub Docs: Copilot plans for individuals (opens in a new tab)
- GitHub Docs: free access to Copilot Pro (opens in a new tab)
- GitHub changelog: updates to Copilot for students (13 March 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Kiro: Kiro Students (opens in a new tab)
- Cursor Help: student discount (opens in a new tab)
- Microsoft: Microsoft 365 college student pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Reserve Bank of India: Enhancing Security of Card Transactions (15 January 2020) (opens in a new tab)